

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF BANKING

2601 North Lamar Blvd., Austin, Texas 78705 512-475-1300 /877-276-5554 www.dob.texas.gov

PRESS RELEASE

Date: August 28, 2017

Department Issues Updated Proclamation and Order Authorizing Temporary Branches Due to Hurricane Harvey

Commissioner Charles G. Cooper issued a new proclamation updating the list of counties in which banks with offices in areas that may be affected by Hurricane Harvey to temporarily close under Section 37.003 of the Texas Finance Code. The total number of counties affected has increased to 54:

Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton, Willacy, and Wilson

In issuing the proclamation, Commissioner Cooper said he expects that only those bank offices directly affected by severe weather will close.

Commissioner Cooper also issued an <u>Order</u> authorizing Texas state-chartered banks to open temporary branch offices or other facilities required for banking operations for the purpose of prompt restoration of access by the public to banking services.

Banks seeking to <u>open a temporary facility</u> or needing additional information should notify the Department by <u>email</u> or toll-free phone at 877-893-6246.



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF BANKING

2601 North Lamar Blvd., Austin, Texas 78705 512-475-1300 /877-276-5554 www.dob.texas.gov

Proclamation By the Texas Banking Commissioner

In response to the continuing damage and threat of damage caused by Hurricane Harvey, and in recognition of the addition of several Texas counties to the disaster area declared by Governor Greg Abbott on August 23, 2017 and subsequent to that initial declaration, I find that an emergency exists in the counties of Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton, Willacy, and Wilson.

Accordingly, I, Charles G. Cooper, Banking Commissioner of Texas, do hereby authorize banks organized under the laws of this state, at their discretion, to close offices, pursuant to Section 37.003 of the Texas Finance Code in the areas indicated above and other areas that may be impacted by Hurricane Harvey and related weather conditions until appropriate human resources, utilities and security can be restored to safely serve the financial service needs of the affected communities.

Dated this 28th day of August 2017.

Charles G. Cooper

Banking Commissioner