
 

PERPETUAL CARE CEMETERY APPLICATION 

REQUIRED EXHIBITS CHECKLIST 

 

 Check or money order in the amount of $500.00 made payable to:  TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF BANKING. Please 

follow directions on the enclosed invoice. 

 

 Completed questionnaire on pages 1 - 3 of the application. Page 3 of the application is to be signed by an officer of the 

applicant. The signature must be notarized. 

 

 Exhibit “A” – Biographical data for each principal owner, partner, or officer with at least a 25% controlling interest 

of the business. If this is not applicable, please provide an explanation of the ownership structure, an organizational 

chart, a list of investors, and biographical data for each officer.  Additionally, refer to Supervisory Memorandum 1042 

regarding the effects of criminal convictions on licensing. 

 

 Exhibit "B" - Copy of the Articles of Incorporation filed with the Secretary of State. See Incorporation Required; 

Minimum Capital under Section 712.003 of the Texas Health and Safety Code (Health and Safety Code). Please Note: 

The Articles of Incorporation should reflect that the purpose of the corporation is to operate a perpetual care cemetery 

pursuant to the Texas Health and Safety Code of Chapter 711.021 and in accordance with Chapter 712 of the Health 

and Safety Code. Please contact the Secretary of State for their requirements prior to filing your Articles. 

 

 Exhibit "C" – If applicable, an assumed name certificate that has been filed with the Secretary of State and/or County 

Clerk. Please refer to the Assumed Name Certificate instructions enclosed for more information.  

 

 Exhibit "D" - Executed Perpetual Care Trust Agreement. 

 

 Exhibit "E" - Evidence of ownership or title to real property by cemetery organization, including the warranty deed. 

 

 Exhibit "F" - Evidence that $50,000.00 has been deposited in the perpetual care trust account along with a copy of 

the trust statement. 

 

 Exhibit "G" - Copy of the cemetery rules and regulations.  Please ensure that the pages are numbered, and the 

cemetery name is on the rules and regulations. 

 

 Exhibit "H" – Proof of Good Standing with Comptroller. 

  

 Exhibit "I" - Most recent financial statements (prefer audited) to assure that the $75,000.00 capital requirement has 

been met.  (Most current annual balance sheet along with most recent quarterly income statement.) 

 

 Exhibit "J" - Copy of the cemetery contracts to be used, including the retail installment contract and the cash contract.  

   Name, address, and telephone number of the cemetery must be listed on the contract 

 

    Required Disclosures: 

 

 “This cemetery is operated as a perpetual care cemetery, which means that a perpetual care fund 

for its maintenance has been established in conformity with the laws of the State of Texas. Perpetual 

care means to maintain, repair, and care for the cemetery, including the roads on cemetery 

property.” 

 “Complaints concerning perpetual care cemeteries should be directed to: Texas Department of 

Banking, 2601 North Lamar Blvd., Austin, TX 78705: 1-877-276-5554 (toll free); 

www.dob.texas.gov.  

 “Charges are only for those items that you selected or that are required. If we are required by law 

to use any items, we will explain the reasons in writing below.” 

 Contains a statement that complaints be directed to the TFSC, as well as the TFSC name, address, 

and telephone number: P.O. Box 12217, Austin, TX 78711; 1-888-667-4881 (toll free). 

http://www.dob.texas.gov/


 

 

 Exhibit "K" - Copy of the certificate of ownership to be used.  See certificate requirements under Section 712.007(c) 

of the Texas Health and Safety Code.  

   Must be executed by two officers 

 Must reflect complete and accurate description of interment space conveyed 

     Required Disclosure: “This cemetery is operated as a perpetual care cemetery, which means that a 

perpetual care fund for its maintenance has been established in conformity with the laws of the State of 

Texas. Perpetual care means to maintain, repair, and care for the cemetery, including the roads on 

cemetery property.” 

 

 Exhibit "L" - Copy of the cemetery price list, as required under Section 651.4055 of the Texas Occupations Code 

governed by the Texas Funeral Service Commission.  

 Name, address, and telephone number of the cemetery must be listed on the contract 

   If the document contains more than one page, it must contain page numbers 

   The effective date for the stated prices must be listed 

   Required Disclosure: “The goods and services show below are those we can provide to our customers. 

You may choose only the items you desire. If legal or other requirements mean you must buy any items 

you did not specifically ask for, we will explain the reason in writing on the statement we provide 

describing the goods and services you selected.” 

 

 Exhibit "M" – Copy of plat map and dedication, filed with County Clerk’s office along with evidence of the distance 

requirements as per Section 711.008 of the Texas Health & Safety Code.  

 

 Exhibit "N" – ACH form, required per Section 26.1 of the Texas Administrative Code. 

 

 Exhibit "O" – New cemeteries must submit a letter from the city authority granting permission to establish a cemetery. 

 

 Evidence that the marker/monument disclosure is included on one of the following four required documents as required 

by Section 26.4(g) of the Texas Administrative Code: the cemetery’s price list, purchase agreement, marker/monument 

order form, or the cemetery’s Rules and Regulations.  

Disclosed on:     Price List 

  Purchase Agreement 

    Marker/Monument Order Form 

  Rules and Regulations 

 Recommended disclosures:  

ABC Cemetery must order your burial marker or monument not later than 21 days after you have paid 100% of 

the cost of the marker or monument; you have paid in full all charges for the interment spaces and corresponding 

required perpetual care, you have paid in full any marker or monument setting fees; you have approved the 

lettering and design for the marker or monument; and you have signed the necessary documentation directing or 

authorizing ABC Cemetery to order the marker or monument. 

 

ABC Cemetery must set your marker not later than 15 days after you have inspected and accepted the marker, 

and you have paid in full all charges for the marker and interment spaces, including required perpetual care and 

any setting fees. ABC Cemetery must set your monument not later than 25 days after you have inspected and 

accepted the monument, and you have paid in full all charges for the monument and interment spaces, including 

required perpetual care and any setting fees.  

 

If ABC Cemetery is unable to set your burial marker or monument by the aforementioned deadlines, ABC 

Cemetery will notify you in writing not later than the 5th day after the date by which your marker or monument is 

required to be set and inform you of the reason for the delay, and the date by which ABC Cemetery expects to be 

able to set your marker or monument. 


