## **Texas Department of Banking Press Release**

## Banking Commissioner Announces New Appointments to Commissioner's Council

Date: September 10, 2003

Texas Banking Commissioner Randall S. James has announced the addition of six new members to the Commissioner's Council. The new members are:

**Dewey Bryant**, President, Southwest Bank, Odessa, Texas; **Mike Liner**, Chief Executive Officer and President, City Bank, Lubbock, Texas; **Michael L. Allen**, Chairman of the Board and President, Union State Bank, Carrizo Springs, Texas; **James D. Lindsey**, Chairman of the Board and President, First State Bank, Mesquite, Texas; **James I. Perkins**, Chairman of the Board and President, Citizens 1St Bank, Tyler, Texas; and **Michael K. O'Neal**, Winstead Sechrest & Minick P.C., Dallas, Texas.

The Commissioner's Council advises the Banking Commissioner regarding policy formulation at the Texas Department of Banking. The Council also provides input into the development of rules to support the Finance Code of Texas and complements the working relationship the Commissioner has established with the Independent Bankers Association of Texas and the Texas Bankers Association. In addition, the Council promotes membership in the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) by encouraging state banks to join CSBS in support of the dual banking system and states' rights issues.

Commissioner Randall James stated, "The addition of such strong and active executives to the Commissioner's Council provides me an insight into current banking conditions that I do not otherwise have. As these individuals join the Council, I want to thank outgoing members **Gary Blankenship**, **Alec Bridges**, **Gary Edmiston**, **Bill Hartley**, **Pat Hickman**, **Don Stricklin** and **Larry Temple** for the energy and efforts in their participation over the last several years. Banking in Texas is a continuous challenge and our partnership strengthens the entire process."