Texas Department of Banking Press Release

Commissioner Announces Appointments to the Commissioner's Council

Date: November 28, 2000

Texas Banking Commissioner Randall S. James announced today the appointment of seven new members to the Commissioner's Council. Members of the Council will advise Commissioner James regarding (1) policy formulation at the Texas Department of Banking; (2) policy formulation and legislative stances of the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS); and (3) membership issues for CSBS.

The following have been appointed to the Commissioner's Council until June 30, 2002:

H. Gary Blankenship, Chairman of the Board of Bank of the West, Irving, Texas.

L. F. (Alec) Bridges, III, Chairman of the Board, Alliance Bank, Sulphur Springs, Texas.

Gary D. Edmiston, Chairman of the Board, Security State Bank, McCamey, Texas.

Larry Kilgore, Executive Vice President, Southwest Bank, Fort Worth, Texas.

Glen E. Roney, Chairman of the Board, Texas State Bank, McAllen, Texas.

Don Stricklin, President, State Bank, La Grange, Texas.

Larry E. Temple, Temple and Temple, L.L.P., Austin, Texas.

Commissioner Randall James stated, "The addition of such strong and active representatives of the Texas banking system to the Commissioner's Council will provide me with additional insight into banking conditions throughout Texas. I especially want to thank James Chambers of Stephenville, Byron LeFlore of San Antonio, Doug Myers of Plano, Dudley Montgomery of Pecos, Ignacio Urrabazo of Laredo, and Donald E. Wood, L.L.P. of Houston for the energy and efforts in their participation over the last several years on the Commissioner's Council as they rotate off at this time." Vernon Bryant of Aledo was appointed to the Finance Commission of Texas in July 2000. Commissioner James added, "Banking in Texas is a continuous challenge and our partnership strengthens the entire process."