Texas Department of Banking Press Release

Plaza Bank, San Antonio, Becomes Texas' Newest State Charter

Date: June 9, 2000

Texas Banking Commissioner Randall S. James announced the conversion of Plaza Bank, San Antonio, Texas. The application, accepted for filing on April 10, 2000, was approved on May 30, 2000. The \$40 million bank, formerly Plaza Bank, N. A., was purchased in 1997 by South Texas Capital Group, Inc. Under this ownership, the bank has more than doubled in size and has two locations in Bexar County. The home office is located at 400 W. Houston Street in Downtown San Antonio. The branch office is located at 12850 Bandera Road in Helotes, Texas.

Richard E. (Dick) Lane serves as Chairman of the Board and CEO. Other directors include Michael L. Garrett, Charles E. Krause, President and Senior Credit Officer Paul D. Thornton, and Gary W. Wolff. Carlin R. Friar is Senior Vice President and Controller.

Chairman Lane expressed the Board's opinion, "Going forward in the new millennium and being a Texas based community bank we believe by converting our Charter to a State Bank provides our shareholders and the customers we serve here in Bexar County greater opportunity in today's rapidly changing financial services environment."

"We believe that the advantages of a state charter and the structure of the state banking system are becoming more evident with the addition of Plaza Bank, the fourth conversion to a state charter in 2000" said Commissioner James. "The people of Bexar County have demonstrated their faith in this locally owned bank to serve the needs of the community as indicated by its steady growth."